Archive for November 25, 2010

Strikes

A friend of mind texted me a night ago, asking me if I could go to a certain event of the UP Feast. I couldn’t, because I was going to sing with the choir of the org where I belong (UP ICTUS). Then she made me think of all my gutter balls when she mentioned that we’d better have bowling in the soonest possible time. Oh, memories. It’s been a while since I had fun in PE.

It’s been a while since I had fun, for that matter. If you saw me smile, I did so because I had no choice.

***

It’s a UP System-wide strike tomorrow, and (I hope that) a lot of UP students will participate. Even for once.

“Do you know what’s worth fighting for,” Green Day asks in one of their songs. For once, I do. I’ll be going tomorrow with the people on strike.

Maybe I’d be shaking inside, the unwanted goosebumps kind wherein all you want to do is run away from the situation which gives you such. It was the feeling I had when I was in the only other protest action I joined – which was against TOFI, way back in December 2006. I fled the shouts and the people – I felt that I wasn’t ready. This time, it will be different.

This time, I will endure and stand my ground.

***

I’ve been hearing the phrases “be completely patient, bearing with one another in love,” “seeing God in all things,” “let go,” and a few others I forgot quite often.

Add to that, that which doesn’t kill me makes me stronger.

For how long will I last?